Glossary of Terms

Glossary is usually defined as an alphabetical list of technical terms in some specialized field of knowledge. This knowledge base glossary provides a collection of knowledge base documents that define many technical terms. These terms are arranged alphabetically, but you can quickly jump to a specific term by selecting its first letter from the index of the knowledge base glossary below.

ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
+1 Annotation
+1 annotations show how many people (known or unknown) +1’d your ad, landing page, or Google+ Page. They also help users know when your ads are relevant to them, and can potentially lead to higher click through rates and conversion rates. If the recommendations are from a person’s friends or contacts, the annotation will include names and photos from those contacts. Personal annotations show a customer the photos and names of the people they know who +1’d your ad, landing page, or Google+ Page. Basic annotations will show the number of people who +1’d your ad, landing page, or Google+ Page, without photos or names.
+1 Button
A Google button that appears across the Internet -- including next to AdWords ads -- that lets people recommend content.
Accelerated Ad Delivery
Accelerated delivery tries to show your ads more quickly until your budget is reached. With this option, your ads can stop showing early in the day if your budget is spent.
Accuracy Score
The Accuracy Score is calculated by dividing the Number of Accurate Listings by the Number of Listings Found (Number of Accurate Listings ÷ Number of Listings Found)
Actual Cost Per Click (CPC)
Your maximum CPC bid is the most you’ll be charged for a click, but you’ll often be charged less -- sometimes much less. That final amount you’re charged for a click is called your actual CPC.
Ad Delivery Options
A setting that determines how quickly you want Google to use your budget each day: either spread throughout the day (standard) or more quickly (accelerated). This setting affects when during the day your ads are likely to show.
Ad Extensions
Ad extensions display extra business information with your ad such as an address, phone number, more webpage links, product images, and pricing information.
Ad Group
A set of keywords, ads, and bids that is a key part of how your account is organized. Each ad campaign is made up of one or more ad groups. - An ad group consists of one or more ads, keywords, placements, or other targeting methods. You also set a default bid for each ad group. - We recommend that you create a separate ad group for each theme such as for each product you offer (like wedding catering and party catering), selling points (like free consultation and gourmet menus), or ways to describe your business (like caterer and on-site food service). The ads and keywords in each ad group should directly relate to that group’s theme.
Ad Group Default Bid
The Ad Group Default Bid refers to a bid amount that applies to all of the keywords and placements in your ad group that don’t have individual bids. This bid sets the maximum amount that you’re willing to pay for each click on your ad for any keyword and placement without its own bid. Your default bids are displayed above the tabs on your ad group page in your account.
Ad Group Deleted
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is in an ad group that isn’t running because you previously paused it.
Ad Group Paused
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is in an ad group that isn’t running because you previously paused it.
Ad Position
The order in which your ad appears on a page in relation to other ads. An ad position of "1" means that your ad is the first ad on a page. Your Ad Rank is recalculated each time your ad is eligible to appear, so your ad position can fluctuate each time depending on your competition at that moment.
Ad Preview and Diagnosis Tool
A tool in your account that helps identify why your ad might not be appearing. The tool also shows a preview of a Google search result page for a specific term, helping you see which ads are appearing for your keyword. Use this tool to check the status of your ad for a particular keyword. Once you enter a search term and other criteria like your language and location, the tool will tell you whether your ad is eligible to appear in that situation. If you want to see how your ad appears in context, it’s better to use this tool than to do a search on Google. You’ll see the exact same results as a Google search but won’t harm your performance by accumulating ad impressions every time you look for your ad.
Ad Rank
Ad rank is a value used to determine your ad position, where ads are shown on a page. Ad Rank is calculated using your bid amount and Quality Score. Ad Rank determines your ad position (where your ad shows on the page in relation to other ads). The main components of your Ad Rank are your bids and the quality of your ads, keywords, and website as measured by what we call Quality Score. Ad Rank is recalculated each time your ad is eligible to appear, so your ad position can fluctuate each time depending on your competition at that moment.
Ad Relevance
Ad Relevance is a keyword status that measures how closely related your keyword is to your ads. This status describes how well your keyword matches the message in your ads. There are three possible statuses you can get: above average, average, or below average. To see the ad relevance status for your keywords, go to the Keywords tab on your Campaigns page and hover over the speech bubble icon next that’s next to a keyword.
Ad Status
Ad status is a status for each ad that describes whether that ad is able to run, and if so, whether there are any policy restrictions on how or when it can run.
AdSense
A Google product that pays website owners for showing relevant AdWords ads on their site. Sites in the AdSense program can show ads that are relevant to the site’s content. If you’re approved, Google gives you a piece of code to put on your site, you choose where to place ads, and then you earn money when visitors click on the ads.
Advertising Policies
AdWords guidelines for your ads, keywords, and website. Ads that violate Google’s policies won’t be able to run.
AdWords
Google’s online advertising program. Through AdWords, you can create online ads to reach people exactly when they’re interested in the products and services that you offer. - Google AdWords is a product that you can use to promote your business, help sell products or services, raise awareness, and increase traffic to your website. - AdWords accounts are managed online, so you can create and change your ad campaign at any time, including your ad text, settings, and budget. - There’s no minimum spending commitment, and you set and control your own budget. You choose where your AdWords ad appears, set a budget that’s comfortable for you, and easily measure the impact of your ad.
AdWords API
An advanced feature that lets advertisers interact with and make changes to their AdWords account through applications they create. The AdWords API (application programming interface) allows developers to create and use applications that interact directly with their account details on the AdWords server.
AdWords Editor
A powerful, free tool designed to help you manage your account offline and easily make a large number of changes at once. With AdWords Editor, you download your account and make all your changes offline before uploading them back to your AdWords account. You can perform detailed searches across campaigns, make multiple changes instantly, and even send other people your proposed changes before you make them in your account.
Age Of Domain
Age of domain is the number of years that your site has been active on the Internet.
Alternate Email Address
An additional email address that you can use to sign in to your Google Account.
Analytics
A free Google product that provides in-depth reporting on how people use your website. You can use Google Analytics to learn what people do after clicking your ads.
Anchor Text
Anchor text is the text that is visibly displayed within a hyperlink that users can click on.
Approved
A status given to ads that meet Google’s advertising policies. Approved ads are ready to be shown. Ads marked as "Approved" have been reviewed and seem to comply with our policies.
Approved (Adult)
A status given to an ad when it or its website is considered to have adult content that might not be appropriate for all audiences. These ads can still appear, but only in certain situations. Ads marked as "Approved (adult)" typically contain sexual imagery or language in ad text or on the ad’s website.
Approved (Limited)
A status given to ads that comply with Google policies but won’t be able to appear in all situations due to the restrictions of those policies. An ad can be marked "Approved (limited)" based on whether the content of its ad text and website comply with details of a policy. To meet the requirements of Google’s policies, these ads will only be allowed to show in certain countries or on certain devices on the Google Search and Display Networks.
Approved (Non-Family)
A status given to an ad when it or its website contains adult-oriented content without nudity or sexually explicit content. These ads can still appear, but not in all situations. Ads marked as "Approved (non-family)" might include adult language, concepts, or images that aren’t appropriate for all audiences. This status affects where your ad can show. Non-family safe ads aren’t shown at all in certain countries as well as on some sites in the Google Network.
Auction
The process that happens with each Google search to decide which ads will appear for that specific search and in which order those ads will show on the page. Each time an AdWords ad is eligible to appear for a search, it goes through the ad auction. The auction determines whether or not the ad actually shows and in which ad position it will show on the page.
Auto-tagging
A feature that automatically creates custom destination URLs to help you track your ad performance using website tracking programs like Google Analytics.
Automated Rules
A feature you can set up to automatically make changes to your ad statuses, budgets, and bids, so you don’t have to spend so much time manually monitoring your campaigns.
Automatic Bidding
A bidding method that automatically sets and adjusts your maximum bids (the most you’ll pay for each click on your ad). The other option, manual bidding, lets you choose your own bid amounts.
Automatic Payments
A payment setting in which advertising costs that you’ve accrued in your AdWords account are automatically charged to your form of payment.
Automatic Placements
Locations on the Display Network where your ads can show and that are automatically matched to your keywords. These placements are different than managed placements which you specifically choose to show your ads.
Average Cost Per Click (Avg. CPC)
The average amount that you’ve been charged for a click on your ad. Average CPC is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.
Average Position (Avg. Pos.)
A statistic that describes how your ad typically ranks against other ads. This rank determines in which order ads appear on the page.
Back Link
Back links are links from another site that point back to your site.
Below First Page Bid Estimate
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is active and can trigger your ad to appear, However, its cost-per-click (CPC) bid is lower than the amount that’s likely to place your ad on the first page of Google search results.
Billing Threshold
A level of spending that, when met, will trigger you to be charged for those costs. This amount starts at $50 and will be automatically raised if your costs reach this amount in 30 days. A billing threshold applies to automatic payments only, where Google charges you for advertising costs after 30 days, or whenever your account reaches your billing threshold.
Body
The body of your webpage contains the main content of the page, such as text, images, and links. In the HTML file itself, this information is found within the tags. Content herein can help to enhance your page’s position in search engines. Therefore, it’s important to include your primary and secondary keywords in the body of your homepage.
Bots
Web bots browse and track web pages via an automated, methodical program. A common use for web crawlers is when search engines use them to save information on websites to display when users search for relevant sites.
Brand Report
Brand Report gives a bird’s eye view of a brand’s entire online reputation, as well as the ability to drill down to specific locations to examine customer reviews and the latest buzz in social media.
Brands
A term Google uses to refer to the way in which the product or service is represented on the site. By definition, different brands will have different names and different logos. In order to be considered separate brands according to Google’s duplicate account policy, the names of the brands must be clearly differentiated and may not be extensions or derivatives of the same name. Logos must be visually distinct.
Breadcrumb
A breadcrumb is a row of internal links at the top or bottom of the page that allows visitors to quickly navigate back to a previous section or the root page. Many breadcrumbs have the most general page (usually the root page) as the first, left-most link and list the more specific sections out to the right.
Broad Match
A keyword setting that allows your ad to show when someone searches for that keyword or a variation of it. The broad match keyword "bicycle bell" can cause your ad to show if someone searches for variations like "bicycle bells," "buy a bell for a bicycle," and "bell reviews for bikes."
Broad Match Modifier
Allows your ad to show for searches that include your broad match keyword or close variations of your broad match keyword.
Broken Links
Correcting any broken links will not only allow people to click on your links, but search engines have a better chance of ranking the content and driving traffic to the website.
Budget Order
An option in AdWords where you can specify a set amount of money that you’d like your account to spend over a set period of time. It’s available to advertisers who use monthly invoicing as a payment setting.
Bulk Edits
"Bulk editing" means editing more than one thing in your account at a time. AdWords offers various tools and features to help you make bulk edits to your account. The editing options available depend on which tool or feature you use.
Cache
A temporary store of data collected by your Internet browser as you surf the web, including elements from webpages that you frequently visit. Cache data can include anything from passwords to responses you entered in online forms.
Campaign
A set of ad groups (ads, keywords, and bids) that share a budget, location targeting, and other settings. Your AdWords account can have one or many ad campaigns running. - Each campaign consists of one or more ad groups, a budget, language and location settings, distribution settings for the Google Network, and other settings. - Campaigns are often used to organize categories of products or services that you offer. You can also create separate ad campaigns to run ads in different locations or using different budgets.
Campaign Deleted
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is in a campaign that isn’t running because you previously deleted it.
Campaign Efficiency
How many clicks it takes to get a phone call
Campaign Ended
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is in a campaign that stopped running because it passed its end date.
Campaign Paused
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is in a campaign that isn’t running because you previously paused it.
Campaign Pending
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is in a campaign that hasn’t started running yet because its start date is in the future.
Campaign Status
A status for your ad campaign that describes whether or not its ads can run at the moment.
Campaign Suspended
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is in a campaign that’s temporarily paused because your prepaid account balance has run out.
Click
A click is recorded when someone searches in Google and clicks on your ad, like on the blue headline of a text ad. A click is counted even if the person doesn’t reach your website, maybe because it’s temporarily unavailable. As a result, you might see a difference between the number of clicks on your ad and the number of visits to your website. Clicks can help you understand how well your ad is appealing to people who see it. Relevant, highly-targeted ads are more likely to receive clicks. You can look at the clickthrough rates (CTRs) shown in your account statistics to understand the percentage of times a user clicks your ad. This metric can help you gauge how enticing your ad is and how closely it matches your keywords and other targeting settings. Note that a good CTR is relative to what you’re advertising and on which networks. To get an idea of how your CTR compares to other advertisers, visit the "Analyze competition" page on the Opportunities tab. To help increase your clicks and CTR, start by creating great ad text and strong keywords to make ads that are highly relevant and very compelling to your customers.
Clickthrough Rate (CTR)
A ratio showing how often people who see your ad end up clicking it. CTR can be used to gauge how well your keywords and ads are performing. CTR is the number of clicks that your ad receives divided by the number of times your ad is shown (called impressions).
Common Ownership
Common ownership occurs when the same entity, whether an individual or a business, owns or controls one or more of the sites in question at the time of multiple ad serving.
Consolidated Billing
A billing option that allows you to get a single invoice for your expenses from multiple AdWords accounts.
Contextual Targeting
The process that matches ads to relevant sites in the Display Network using your keywords or topics, among other factors.
Conversion
When a person who clicked your ad completes an action you consider valuable, such as calling your business from a mobile phone or buying something on your website it is considered a conversion. A conversion occurs when a click on your ad leads directly to a behavior that’s valuable to you, such as a purchase, a phone call, newsletter sign-up, lead, view of a certain page, or download. You decide what action should count as a conversion for your business.
Conversion Optimizer
An AdWords feature that predicts which clicks are likely to be valuable, then changes your bids to help you get as many profitable clicks as possible.
Conversion Page
A page of your website that someone reaches after performing a valuable action, like a purchase confirmation page. People should reach this page of your site only after completing a conversion, an action like a purchase or sign-up that you consider to be valuable for your business.
Conversion Rate
How often a click on your ad resulted in a conversion, a meaningful action like a sale, lead, or sign-up.
Conversion Tracking
A free tool in your account that can help measure how clicks on your ads lead to meaningful actions such as sales or leads.
Cookie
A small file saved on people’s computers to help store preferences and other information that’s used on webpages that they visit. Cookies can save people’s settings on certain websites and can sometimes be used to track how visitors get to and interact with websites.
Cost Per Click (CPC)
Cost Per Click is the cost amount you pay when a prospect clicks on your ad.
Cost Per Lead (CPL)
Cost Per Lead is calculated by dividing the Total Cost Per Click by the number of leads you receive. Example: Your company received 25 clicks at a cost of $2.00 per click. The total Cost Per Click is $50 (25 clicks x $2.00 per click). You received 6 calls from these clicks. $50 ÷ 6 = $8.33 CPL
Cost Per View (CPV)
A bidding method where you pay for each time your video is played. You set CPV bids to tell Google how much you’re willing to pay for each video play.
Cpanel
Cpanel (or Control panel) is a website managing account given by the hosting provider that you can find essential details, such as files in the server, web space used, and email accounts used. Here is a sample screenshot for reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:CPanel_screenshot.png
CPM (Cost per Thousand)
CPM stands for cost-per-thousand impressions. This means you pay for each set of a thousand showings of your ad rather than paying for the number of clicks that you receive. CPM bidding is best suited for advertisers who are focused on brand awareness rather than sales or website traffic.
Crawling
Crawling is the process by which search engines find updated pages and sites to compile in their indexes. Many search engines use an algorithm process to add pages. New and updates sites, changes to existing sites, and dead links are often used to update indexes.
Customer ID
A Google term that refers to the unique three-part number that’s assigned to each AdWords account and listed at the top of every page in your account. After you sign in to your account, your customer ID will be at the top of any AdWords page, next to your email address. Your customer ID is used to identify your AdWords account.
Daily Budget
An amount that you set for each ad campaign to specify how much, on average, you’d like to spend each day. You set an average daily budget for each AdWords campaign, and then the system will aim to show your ads as much as possible until your budget is met. When your budget is reached, your ads will typically stop showing for that day. How quickly your ads are shown during a given day is determined by your ad delivery option. It’s possible that you’ll be charged less or sometimes slightly more than your average daily budget amount on a given day. To help make sure that your ad can run a little more on days when it’s very popular, your daily budget is used like an average: on any single day, you can receive up to 20% more in costs than your daily budget, but other days will be capped at a lower amount to make up for it. This is called over delivery. However, in a given billing period, you’re never charged more than the average number of days in a month (roughly 30.4) times your daily budget. For campaigns that are paused in the middle of the month or that otherwise don’t run for the full month, you may see discrepancies between your average daily budgets and your total charges.
Deleted
Campaign and its ads aren’t running because you have deleted it.
Destination URL
The URL address for the page in your website where you’d like people to be sent after they click your ad. Your destination URL isn’t visible in the ad, so you can use it to direct people to a specific page within your site without cluttering your ad. For example, an ad could use a clean display URL like example.com to show with the ad, while using a more specific destination URL like example.com/camera_purchase_page.html to link customers to the most relevant page.
Directory
A directory is a site that contains categories and listings of web pages. It relies on information that users must submit to be displayed in its listings.
Disapproved
Disapproved is a status Google gives to an ad when it or its website violates our advertising policies. Disapproved ads will not run until the issue has been fixed.
Display Network
A group of more than a million websites, videos, and apps where your ads can appear. Sites in this network have partnered with Google to show relevant AdWords ads. The Display Network (formerly known as the Content Network) is one part of the Google Network, Google’s name for all the webpages where AdWords ads can appear.
Display Partners
Display Partners are sites in the Display Network that partner with Google to show ads. Your ads can appear on partners’ websites, mobile phone apps, and other placements that you choose or that relate to your ads and keywords or other targeting methods you’ve added.
Display Planner
Display Planner is a tool in your account that provides targeting ideas and estimates to help you plan a Display campaign that you can later add to your AdWords account. Display Planner generates ideas for all the ways you can target the Display Network based on a particular landing page or what interests your customers. Targeting ideas include keywords, interests, topics, website placements, mobile apps, videos, demographics, and remarketing. Each idea comes with impression and reach estimates as well as historical costs. Think of these as a guide to better help you plan your Display campaign, rather than estimates and statistics to project performance. You can find Display Planner under the Tools and Analysis tab in your account.
Display URL
The webpage address that appears with your ad, typically shown in green text. Display URLs are meant to give users a clear idea of what page they’ll arrive at when they click an ad. Google can only show up to 35 characters of your display URL (or 20 characters for WAP mobile ads). If your display URL is longer, a shortened version will be shown with your ad.
Domain
The domain is the core part of a website’s URL (its Internet address). In the URL "www.google.com/adwords," the domain name is "google.com." A domain is usually made up of two parts: a name (like "google") and a category (like ".com") which combine to make a domain name like "google.com." Domains can use industry categories such as .edu and .gov, country categories such as .fr or .jp, or a combination.
Domain Name
Domain name is a unique series of words that identifies a site. It is the series of words that you would like to be used to index your site’s pages.
Double Serving
Google generally discourage advertisers from running ads for the same or similar businesses across multiple accounts triggered by the same or similar keywords. This policy, known as "double serving," prevents multiple ads from the same or commonly-owned company from appearing on the same search results page. To comply with this policy, advertisers should avoid running ads from different accounts on the same or similar keywords that point to the same or similar websites.
Download Time
Download time refers to the number of seconds it takes to download a page to a browser. The download time depends on two major factors, which are Internet connection speed and file size. If your web hosting provider is not performing optimally and your homepage takes longer than 30 seconds to download, search engines will likely bypass the page and not capture any content.
Duplicate Content
Duplicate content is when the text on one site is similar or the same to another site. Examples of non-malicious duplicate content include discussion forums, merchant products, or printer-only versions of web pages.
Eligible
A status given to ads that Google has not yet reviewed, but that can still appear on Google search result pages.
End Date
End Date is a setting that determines how long you’d like your campaign’s ads to run. When the campaign’s end date arrives, your ads will stop running.
Ended
Campaign has passed its end date, so its ads are no longer running.
Ended Campaign
An ad campaign that has passed its end date and is no longer running ads. You choose an end date for each ad campaign to indicate when it should stop running. When a campaign reaches its end date, all ads within the campaign stop running.
Enhanced CPC (ECPC)
Enhanced CPC (ECPC) is a bidding feature that raises your bids in situations that seem more likely to lead to a sale or other conversion on your website. It lowers your bids for situations that seem less likely to lead to a conversion. Enhanced cost-per-click (ECPC) is an optional feature that can help you get more value from your ad budget.
eOSP
eOSP stands for Online Signup Page. An eOSP allows you to gather contact information from your customers.
Error Sites
Error sites are websites on the Display Network that show targeted ads to people who enter the wrong address for a website or try to search in their browser’s address bar.
Exact Match
A keyword setting that allows your ad to show only when someone searches for the exact phrase of your keyword or close variations of the exact phrase of your keyword. The exact match keyword "bicycle bell" can cause your ad to show only if someone searches for "bicycle bell" or close variations of "bicycle bell" exactly, with no other words.
Exception Request
A process that allows you to request a further review of your ads if you think the policy doesn’t apply to you.
Expected Clickthrough Rate
A keyword status that measures how likely it is that your ads will get clicked when shown for that keyword, irrespective of your ad’s position. This status predicts whether your keyword is likely to lead to a click on your ads. Google takes into account how well your keyword has performed in the past, based on your ad’s position. They only look at exact matches when determining your expected clickthrough rate. Your expected clickthrough rate will be rated as above average, average or below average.
Family Status
A status given to all ads to indicate what audiences the ad and website are appropriate for. Ads that are "family safe," "non-family safe," and "adult" have different restrictions around when and where they can appear. If your ad status says "Approved," that means that your ad is "family safe." Your ad can potentially show to any audience.
Few Page Matches
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is temporarily suspended because it matches very few pages, indicating that the phrase isn’t common in Display Network content.
Filter
A search that you can do on your campaign data to restrict the type of data that you see in your tables and charts.
First Page Bid Estimate
An estimate of the bid you likely need to set in order for your ad to be shown on the first page of search results.
Flash
Flash is a file format that creates animations or videos on a site.
Google Account
A Google-wide username and password that can be used to access various products, including AdWords.
Google AdWords
Google AdWords is their PPC (Pay Per Click) advertising service and tool. AdWords allows users to buy advertising placements on search engine listings.
Google Network
All of the places where your AdWords ad can appear, including Google sites, websites that partner with us, and other placements like mobile phone apps.
Google Places
Google Places is a product that lets you create and manage free business listings in Google Maps so that people can see your business when doing a local search.
Google+ Page
A page on Google+ that businesses, products, brands, and organizations can create to promote their public identity and interact with others on Google+. You can create a Google+ Page to share the latest about your business with people on the web including information about your products, promotions, hours, and anything else you want to share.
Googlebot
Googlebot is a web crawler or robot that Google uses to index and measure websites. The Googlebot program crawls the web to find new and updates sites to add to its index. Crawling is the process by which Googlebot discovers new and updated pages to be added to the Google index.
H1 Tag
H1 tags indicate a webpage’s structure and recommended for SEO purposes to understand the page content.
Hyper Text Markup Language (HTML)
Hyper Text Markup Language (also known as HTML) is the language that is used to write web pages. The codes are composed from a series of tags to describe web pages.
Image Ad
A type of AdWords ad that includes a graphic to promote your business.
Impressions
Impressions refer to how often your ad is shown. An impression is counted each time your ad is shown on a search result page or other site on the Google Network. You’ll sometimes see the abbreviation "Impr" in your account showing the number of impressions for your ad.
In-line Editing
A way to change your ads, keywords, placements, and bids right where you see them in your account. For example, click a keyword and type your changes right there. In-line editing lets you change your ads, keywords, placements, and bids within the tables on your account’s Campaigns tab. Just hover over a row to reveal which fields are editable, then click one of those fields.
Inbound Link
Inbound links are links from another site that point back to your site.
Indexing
Indexing is the processes of crawling web pages, in order to compile a massive index of all the words and location on each page. In addition, the act of indexing processes information included in key content tags and attributes.
Inherited status
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is not triggering ads because it’s contained in a campaign or ad group that is currently not active.
Interaction Rate
How often the people who see your special format ad choose to interact with it.
Invalid Clicks
Clicks on ads that Google considers to be illegitimate, such as unintentional clicks or clicks resulting from malicious software.
IP Address
A unique number that’s assigned to every computer or other device that connects to the Internet. Internet Protocol (IP) addresses are assigned to Internet devices by Internet Service Providers (ISPs).
Keyword Insertion
An advanced AdWords feature that dynamically updates your ad text to include one of your keywords that matches a customer’s search terms.
Keyword Matching Options
Settings for each keyword that help control how closely the keyword needs to match a person’s search term in order to trigger your ad.
Keyword Ranking Report
A Keyword Ranking Report in Guided SEO shows competitive ranking charts and target keyword analysis.
Keyword Status
A status for each keyword that describes whether it can trigger ads to run at the moment. For each keyword, you’ll see information about its current state listed in the "Status" column in the Keywords tab of your Campaigns page. If several statuses apply to a keyword, Google will show you the most relevant status first.
Keyword Tool
A tool that helps you find new keyword ideas and add them to your account.
Keywords - PPC
Words or phrases describing your product or service that you choose to help determine when and where your ad can appear. The keywords you choose are used to show your ads to people. Select high-quality, relevant keywords for your ad campaign to help you reach only the most interested people, who are more likely to become your customers. When someone searches on Google, your ad could be eligible to appear based on the similarity of your keywords to the person’s search terms.
Keywords - SEO
Keywords are words or phrases that make up a search term. Keywords are used to look for relevant information on search engines. As an SEO technique, it is important to choose quality, targeted keywords for your site.
Landing Page
A Landing Page is the webpage where customers end up after they click your ad. This page is usually the same as your ad’s destination URL.
Landing Page Experience
A keyword status that measures how relevant and useful your website’s landing page is to people who click your ad. This status describes whether your landing page is likely to provide a good experience to customers who click your ad and land on your website.
Lead
A lead is recorded when someone either fills out a form or calls the call tracking phone number in your ad.
Limited by Budget
A campaign status that’s used when your daily budget is lower than the recommended amount. Ads in a such a campaign are regularly not showing as often as they could.
Link Title
Link title or label is the text that is visibly displayed within a hyperlink that users can click on.
Listing Score
The Listing Score is a combination of Presence and Accuracy. • 40% of the Listing Score is tied to online Presence. • 60% of the Listing Score is tied to Accuracy of online listings.
Location Extensions
Location extensions display your business name, address, and phone number with your ad to help customers connect with your local business.
Location Targeting
A setting that helps you show your ads to customers in a selected geographic location.
Long Tail
Long tail is a phrase that compares the value of keywords. Long tail is based on the popularity and competitiveness of keywords. The higher competitive key words are described as short tail, while the less popular keywords that are easier to rank are described as long tail.
Longform Videos
Descriptions of the length of online videos. Longform videos are over 10 minutes in duration.
Low Search Volume
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is temporarily suspended because it’s associated with very little search traffic on Google, indicating that it’s not very relevant to most customers’ searches.
Managed Placements
Locations on the Display Network that you specifically choose as places where you’d like to show your ads. You select these placements, as opposed to automatic placements that are chosen for you.
Manual Bidding
A bidding method that allows you to set your own bid amounts to control the maximum cost for each click on your ad. The other option, automatic bidding, sets these bid amounts for you.
Manual Payments
A payment setting in which you pay for your advertising costs before your ads run. Then, as your ads run, your costs are deducted from the payment you’ve made.
Maximum CPC Bid
A bid that you set to determine the highest amount that you’re willing to pay for a click on your ad. If someone clicks your ad, that click won’t cost you more than the maximum cost-per-click bid (or "max CPC") that you set.
Maximum CPM Bid
A bid that you set to determine the highest amount you’re willing to pay for 1,000 impressions (times your ads are shown). You set a maximum CPM bid (or "max CPM") and then won’t pay more than that amount for every 1,000 impressions your ads receive. A higher bid generally helps your ad show higher on a page and show more often. You can set a maximum CPM bid for an entire ad group and also set different bids for individual placements.
Mention
In Qiigo Social, a mention is any piece of content that matches your search criteria. Mentions can include blog posts, tweets, forum posts, comments, photos, and news articles.
Meta Descriptions
Meta descriptions provide information to the engines about your page, the text (snippet) is usually displayed when a user searches for your site.
Meta Keywords
Meta keywords are located in the header of your web pages and should include important and relevant keywords from the specific web page when optimizing.
Meta No Index Tag
When users see a no index meta tag on a page, search engines will often completely drop the page from search results, even if other pages link to it. If the content is currently displayed, they will remove it after the next time it crawls the page. The meta tag allows users to control access on a page-by-page basis, which is useful if users don’t have access to their servers.
MMS
MMS stands for Multimedia Messaging Service). MMS allows you to send text messages that include photos, video or audio files to your contacts. It is ideal for creating longer text messages as MMS texts can accomodate up to 500 characters as opposed to SMS texts which only allow for 160 characters.
Mobile Ad
A type of AdWords ad that can appear on webpages and apps that are viewed on a mobile device like a cell phone or tablet.
Monthly Invoicing
A payment setting in which Google provides you a line of credit for your advertising costs, and you pay for those costs -- according to terms and conditions that you’ve agreed to -- using a check or wire transfer.
mOSP
mOSP stands for Mobile Online Signup Page. A mOSP is an easy way for customers to register their contact information via their mobile device.
Multiple Sign-In
A feature that allows you to sign in to 10 or fewer Google Accounts at the same time. For example, have both your work Gmail and personal Gmail open at the same time in the same Internet browser.
My Change History
A tool that lists the changes you’ve made to your account during the past two years. See details about changes like when you paused your campaign, who added a keyword, and the amounts of your previous budgets.
My Content
In Qiigo Social, you can tag content as "My Content". Tagging content as "My Content" will remove it from your search results.
MyLeads Qiigo
MyLeads Qiigo allows you to manage your Pay Per Click (PPC) and/or Mobile advertising campaign. Use MyLeads Qiigo to listen to incoming calls, track lead origination, view reverse look up information and more.
Negative Keywords
A type of keyword that prevents your ad from being triggered by a certain word or phrase. It tells Google not to show your ad to anyone who is searching for that phrase.
Negative Match
Ensures your ad doesn’t show for any search that includes that term.
Negative Zip Code
A negative zip code is a zip code Google is instructed to exclude from a campaign. This means we add zip codes to your campaign that we do not want your ads to show in. This is most commonly done when there are two locations within the same city or town.
Not Serving (Video Ads)
A status given to a video ad when all of its formats (headline, description, video, etc.) have been disapproved.
Not Yet Serving (Video Ads)
A status given to a video ad when it hasn’t been reviewed yet by Google. You may see this status immediately after creating a video ad in AdWords for video.
Opening Image
The still image that’s shown on your Click-to-Play video ad before someone plays the video.
Opt In
Opt-In is short for opting in. It means that a person has given a specific company permission to send them messages. Opting in can occur by testing in a keyword or completing an online sign up form.
Optimization
The process of making changes in your account to help improve your advertising success. You can optimize elements like your ads, keywords, and bids. Based on your advertising goals, optimization can involve ad text improvements, new keywords or changes to keyword settings, strategic changes to your bids, better organization within your campaign, and changes to ad targeting options. When optimizing your account, focus on a specific goal like improving your Quality Scores, increasing conversions like sales and your ROI or profits, or reducing costs. Successful advertisers tend to optimize their ad campaigns regularly to keep their campaigns running smoothly and successfully. Your account has a number of tools to help you identify and make improvements, including the Opportunities tab.
Overdelivery
The normal event of accruing more costs in one day than the amount of your average daily budget. However, AdWords prevents your campaign from overspending for the month as a whole. Overdelivery can help make up for days when traffic is slow and your ads don’t get as much exposure.
Overdelivery Credit
A credit Google applies to your account if they’ve shown your ad so much that you exceed your monthly charging limit. Google doesn’t charge you for these clicks and can automatically issue a credit on your invoice.
Page Description
Page description is a summary of or an excerpt from the webpage. The snippet is Google’s algorithmic attempt to extract just the part of the page most relevant to your query. The URL tells you about the site in general.
Page Rank
Page Rank (also known as PR) is shown on a site’s position in search results. It is a ranking that Google assigns pages on your site. Page Rank is based on a 0-10 scale, and it considers a number of factors, such as a site’s content and transparency in Google searches, , as well as the number and quality of inbound and outbound links.
Parked Domain Site
A web address that was purchased but not thoroughly developed. This webpage typically has little or no content because the page is, for example, in development or waiting for a new owner.
Paused
Campaigns and its ads aren’t running because you paused it.
Pay for Inclusion
Pay for inclusion is a technique that applies to display advertisements on search engines that are paid for. Adwords is a popular PPC advertisement program through Google.
Pay Per Click (PPC)
Pay per click (also known as PPC) is a technique that applies to display advertisements on search engines that are paid for. Adwords is a popular PPC advertisement program through Google.
Pending
Campaign’s start date is in the future, so its ads have not started running yet.
Pending Campaign
An ad campaign whose start date is in the future and therefore hasn’t started running ads yet.
Phrase Match
Allows your ad to show only for searches that include the exact phrase, or close variations of that exact phrase, with additional words before or after.
Placement Tool
A tool in your account that can help you find websites and other placements where you might like your ad to appear.
Placements
Locations on the Display Network where your ad can appear. Examples include relevant websites and apps that partner with Google to show ads.
Play Rate
How often your ad’s video was played compared to how often the ad was shown.
Presence Score
The Presence Score is calculated by dividing the Number of Listings Found by the Number of Sources Monitored (Number of Listings Found ÷ Number of Sources Monitored)
Product Ads
A type of ad that features detailed information about specific products that you sell. These ads appear alongside Google search results in one of two formats: Product Extensions or Product Listing Ads.
Product Extensions
A type of product ad. For text ads add information to your standard text ad and show all relevant products for a person’s search terms.
Product Feed
A file that contains details about the products you sell and that’s used to list your products on Google search results (including Google Shopping).
Product Filters
An optional way to exclude which products in your Google Merchant Center account can appear for your product extensions or product listing ads.
Product Listing Ads
A type of product ad. These ads appear separately from AdWords ads on the page and feature several products from different merchants that are relevant to a person’s search terms.
Product Target
A way to specify which products in your Google Merchant Center account should trigger your product listing ads for related searches. You can also set unique bids for different sets of products.
Promotional Code (Coupon)
Also known as coupons or vouchers, a monetary credit that can be added to an advertiser’s account once they meet any necessary criteria.
Qiigo Social
Qiigo Social allows you to manage all your social media accounts in one place. From viewing potential social media leads to building fans, Qiigo Social makes social media marketing easy.
QR Code
A QR Code (Quick Response Code) is a two-dimensional barcode, which has encoded in it a URL (web address), text or other information. QR Codes are read by a QR Scanner application on a smart phone.
Quality Score
Quality score is a measurement of how relevant your ads, keywords, and landing page are to a person seeing your ad. Higher Quality Scores can lead to lower prices and better ad positions.
Rarely Shown Due to Low Quality Score
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword is temporarily suspended because it’s associated with very little search traffic on Google, indicating that it’s not very relevant to most customers’ searches.
Recent Activity
The Recent Activity tab in Qiigo Social shows the most recent posts on your social media pages (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Foursquare). This tab also shows activity by your social media followers.
Recommended Daily Budget
An estimate for the minimum amount you’d need to set for your daily budget in order for your ad to appear as often as possible for your current set of keywords.
Referrer URL
The address of the webpage where a person clicked a link that sent them to your page.
Relevance
Relevance refers to how closely the elements of your ad campaign match what a person seems to be looking for. Your ads and keywords should directly relate to the content on your website, especially the ad’s landing page. When people see your ad, they should be able to understand what kind of product, service, or other content they’ll find on your site. The AdWords pricing system is partly based on relevance. A highly relevant ad, keyword list, and landing page is generally rewarded with a higher position on the page for potentially less money. Relevance is part of your Quality Score.
Remarketing
A feature that lets you reach people who have previously visited your website. Your ads can show to these customers when they visit other websites in the Google Display Network.
Reputation Management
Your reputation is what you say about yourself and what others say about you. Managing your reputation is nothing new. Every business has been doing it for as long as businesses have existed. What’s new is how the Internet and social media have changed the way your reputation spreads. Reputation management is the act of monitoring and responding to what is said about your business.
Return on Investment (ROI)
How much profit you’ve made from your ads compared to how much you’ve spent on those ads. Return on investment (known as ROI) measures the ratio of your profits to your advertising costs.
Reviews
In Qiigo Social, Reviews show how your business fares on online review sites.
Robots.txt
A robots.txt file tells search engines whether they can access and therefore crawl parts of your site. "Robots.txt" is placed in the root directory of your site, and it restricts access to your site by search engine robots that crawl the web. While Google won’t crawl or index the content of pages blocked by robots.txt, they may still index the URLs if they are found on other web pages.
Search (Qiigo Social)
A search in Qiigo Social is a keyword or phrase used to retrieve content.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Search engine optimization is a series of techniques to optimize a site and lift its traffic from search engines.
Search Engine Results Page (SERP)
SERP is the list of sites that appear on search engines after a keyword query. SERP results include both natural and paid listings.
Search Engine Trust
Search engine trust is how a search engine views your website in terms of authority, which can factor into how your site will rank. Websites rank higher in accordance with the amount of trust it has with search engines. It is often believed that the quality and volume of inbound links to your website is the biggest signal of trust to the search engines. Other factors may include the freshness of your content.
Search Network
A group of search-related websites where your ads can appear, including Google search sites and search sites that partner with Google to show ads (search partners).
Search Partners
Sites in the Search Network that partner with Google to show ads.
Search Terms Report
A list of search terms that people have used before seeing your ad and clicking it. Use this report to refine your keywords so that only the right searches cause your ad to show.
Segment
A category (like ad type or day of the week) that you can add to your campaign’s tables and charts in order to organize your performance data around that criteria.
Sentiment
Sentiment reflects the opinion of an author about your business. Sentiment can be positive ("I love this place"), neutral ("We had lunch here.") or negative ("The service was poor.")
Serving (Video Ads)
A status given to a video ad when it’s approved to appear on YouTube, and Google hasn’t detected any issues with it. Note: The video ad may not necessarily be running at this time.
Share of Voice
In Qiigo Social, Share of Voice gives you a rough idea of how often your business is turning up in local searches versus your competitors.
Shortened URL
Shortened URLs take a long URL and shorten it to a "bit.ly" link. A shortened URL saves characters when sending text messages.
Shortform Videos
Descriptions of the length of online videos. Shortform videos are under 10 minutes in duration.
Shuffle Responder
Shuffler responder is a Qiigo Social function that enables you to prepare up to 100 different messages to be sent every time a subscriber tests in your Shuffle Responder keyword. It is ideal for daily deals, quotes, jokes, and giveaways.
Site Content
This is the text that appears in the body of your site.
Site Suspended
A status given to keywords. This status means the keyword cannot trigger ads because the webpage it promotes violates AdWords policy.
Sitelink
Sitelinks are algorithmically generated links to help users navigate quickly to the relevant parts of websites. Not all sites have sitelinks, and they are not always available. Google often displays sitelinks for results when we they will be useful to the user.
Sitemap
A sitemap is a list of the pages on your website. Creating and submitting a sitemap helps make sure that search engines know about your site.
SMS
SMS stands for Shortened Messaging Service. SMS enables mobile phone users to send and receive text messages. SMS texts can be up to 160 characters long.
Snap In
A Snap In is a brand specific application in the Local Marketing Cloud. Examples of Snap In applications include Brand Specific, Social Media and Local Directory Applications.
Snippet
Snippet is a description of or an excerpt from the webpage. The snippet is Google’s algorithmic attempt to extract just the part of the page most relevant to your query. The URL tells you about the site in general.
Social
The Social tab in Qiigo Social allows you to connect your social media accounts to Qiigo Social. Once connected, the Social tab will show graphs detailing the growth of your social media network.
Social Annotations
Notes next to ads that show how many Google+ followers the website has.
Source Code
Source code is the programming language that is used to write a website.
Spiders
Web spiders browse and track web pages via an automated, methodical program. A common use for web crawlers is when search engines use them to save information on websites to display when users search for relevant sites.
Standard Ad Delivery
Standard delivery (the default option) tries to show your ads throughout the entire day to make sure that you don’t spend your whole budget in the morning and cause your ads to stop showing for the rest of the day.
Statistics Table
A customizable chart in your AdWords account that displays detailed performance data.
Sub-domain
A domain to label a specific category other than and smaller than the original domain.
Targeting Group
A set of targeting methods -- like keywords, placements, and demographics -- that you want to use for your video ad campaign.
Targeting Method
The method that you choose to match your ads to places it can appear. Keywords and placements are the most common examples.
Text Ad
The standard type of AdWords ad. A text ad typically includes a link to your website and a description or promotion of your product or service.
Text Overlay Ad
A text ad that is shown with video content on Display Network sites.
Title
Title is the first line in search results. This text is generally taken from the contents of the <title> tag for that page, which is also the text that appears in the title bar of your browser. When the title tag is not meaningful or the page is not crawlable, Google will often pull the title from the anchor text of a link to that page.
Title Tag
A title tag tells both users and search engines what the topic of a particular page is. The <title> tag should be placed within the <head> tag of the HTML document. Ideally, you should create a unique title for each page on your site.
Traffic Estimator
A tool that estimates how well a particular keyword could perform. The estimates include search volume, average prices, and ad positions.
TrueView Video Formats
Types of video ads that give viewers the choice over which advertisers’ messages they want to see and when.
Under Review
A status given to ads that can’t run until Google reviews and approves them according to our policies.
Unique Titles
Search engines look closely at the </title> text of the page to understand what the page is about. Each page should be unique and relevant to content of that page. This is one of the most important SEO aspects.
Unique Visits
Unique visits indicate the number of users who have visited a site during a specific time period.
URL
A site’s URL is a webpage’s address. ex: www.qiigo.com
URL Structure
Google crawls most all URL structures, but it’s important to make sure they are as simple and easy as possible for visitors and search engines to find. URLs should be organized and structured logically to avoid confusion and complications.
Verify Connect
The Verify Connect link in Qiigo Social allows you to identify listings as accurate.
Video Ads - Not Serving
A status given to a video ad when all of its formats (headline, description, video, etc.) have been disapproved.
Video Ads - Not Yet Serving
A status given to a video ad when it hasn’t been reviewed yet by Google. You may see this status immediately after creating a video ad in AdWords for video.
Video Ads - Serving
A status given to a video ad when it’s approved to appear on YouTube, and Google hasn’t detected any issues with it. Note: The video ad may not necessarily be running at this time.
Video Ads - With Issues
One or more of a video ad’s formats are marked as "Disapproved" or "Approved (limited)." This means the ad is not running.
Video Publisher
A website that shows streaming video content and that usually has a strong focus on video content and video sharing.
Visibility
The Visibility tab in Qiigo Social tracks where your business is listed on major search engines, local review sites, online business directories, and social networks.
Web Crawlers
Web crawlers browse and track web pages via an automated, methodical program. A common use for web crawlers is when search engines use them to save information on websites to display when users search for relevant sites.
Web Hosting
Web hosting is a platform or service that hosts and stores your site on a server.
With Issues (Video Ads)
One or more of a video ad’s formats are marked as "Disapproved" or "Approved (limited)." This means the ad is not running.
XML
An XML sitemap is a list of the pages on your website. Creating and submitting a sitemap helps make sure that search engines know about your site.